Invisible 

I wrote this post last week and forgot to post it, it is still relevant so thought I would post it now.
I was thinking today about why it is so hard for doctors, family, friends and colleagues to believe or understand the impact FMS has on a person. Thinking back to when I was Fibro free (which tbh seems like a lifetime ago) I too found the condition hard to fathom. The whole issue with the condition is that it is invisible, people don’t believe because they can’t see it!

Think about it…

Now we are adults, most of us, don’t believe in Santa, the Easter bunny or the tooth fairy because there comes a time in our lives when we are taught that seeing is believing. Well let me tell you, I don’t see it, but I sure as hell feel it!!

As a (to coin the term) Fibro Warrior you learn to wear a mask, this ultimately might hinder people’s understanding and attitude but it does stop awkward conversations. My mask is my makeup, a smile and the phrase ‘I’m fine’. I like to wear makeup, admittedly some days I’m too tired or rushed to apply it in the morning, and you can guarantee that if I’m leaving the house for work or to see friends on a bad day, I will plaster it on to hide the pain. 

Until you have a chronic, invisible illness (and I wouldn’t wish it on my worse enemy) you can’t understand the impact it has on everyday life. I have been with my husband for 7 years this year and he is so supportive, but even he has days when he still struggles with the idea of me being in pain 24/7. It is a constant battle to gain understanding, but should we have to use our precious energy trying to justify our symptoms?

Let me know what your experiences have been in trying to explain your illnesses?

3 thoughts on “Invisible 

  1. Kiersten says:

    Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and amazing design.

    Like

  2. Donna // February Stars says:

    I think there are times when we feel like we have to justify ourselves because no-one can see what is wrong with us. I’ve slowly learned to let go of that, though admittedly at times it can still be a struggle. However, the people that matter I don’t have to justify anything to and that’s something I try to keep in mind. If people don’t believe me, they aren’t worth my time. We have to adapt, get on with life and smile. That doesn’t mean we aren’t suffering. It just means we are strong and want to live life as best we can 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment